Chakra Shizz: How to Harness The Force

I've had my chakras fiddled with and I've got to tell you, it feels unfathomably good.

The seven Chkra colours taken from

The seven Chkra colours taken from

On Friday a friend and I went for a Reiki treatment. I wasn't expecting much; a bit of unexplained warmth maybe... a relaxing hour laying horizontal with nothing but the sound of pan pipes and trickling rainwater that was likely to make me want to wee. But no, there was more to it than that. Enough to make me believe there's more to this chakra shizz than I've allowed myself to get on board with. In fact, I'm now inclined to think that there could be secret energies laying dormant within me. Forces that - should I learn to harness them - could be my making...

Now I've watched A LOT a lot of Star Wars over Christmas and Yoda - he was onto this Chakra business from the start. I know, I know ... they call it The Force in that particular Galaxy, but I'm convinced we're talking about the same thing. You want confidence? Own it. You want humility? Show it. You want inspiration? Find it. It's all within you, but chances are you might need a bit of help unblocking obstacles and channelling your energy in the right direction.

My new mentor Yoda harnessing the green light of The Force. 

My new mentor Yoda harnessing the green light of The Force. 

The best place to start is with a specialist Reiki session, which is not a massage btw. It's a particular placing of spiritual hands above and sometimes on your chakras - of which we all (yes even you) have seven. This will help determine where you're a bit blocked or unbalanced and how you can achieve a better flow.

Look. I know this sounds like horse shit but all I can say is give it a go. Everyone reacts differently and for me, it was an hour of deeply relaxing, almost meditative consciousness (I've never meditated so I actually don't know if this is factually correct). I wasn't asleep and yet I wasn't awake either. I had flashes of intense colour coming at me in my mind's eye; shapes that morphed then melted away. I felt a swaying sensation, almost like I was nothing but a blob of fluid and then, eventually, a deeply stabilised feeling in my belly. I've never understood the word 'centred' but now I think I do.

It was weird and lovely the way a deep, dream filled sleep is. It takes you a bit to come round and when you do you, you're just, um... chilled I suppose. 

Chilled is not a word that springs to mind where I'm concerned, just ask anyone who knows me. I have a God given gift to make even the most straightforward arrangements a minefield of confusion and bewilderment. I'm not expecting that to change any time soon, but what I have noticed is that I can now recognise the signs of my own particular brand of chaos kicking in and I can channel my energy in a different direction. A much more productive direction at that.

And the thing about energy that I learnt only on Friday, is that you can invite more positive vibes into your life as and when you need them. Divine energy is everywhere man, you just need to know where to look for it. 

Here's a quick run down of the colours associated with each of the seven chakras. Quite simply, if you feel lacking in one particular type of energy, surround yourself in that colour, whether it be in the clothes that you wear or the things you have in your house. Don't take this too literally of course. Having a bowl full of bananas on the worktop and wearing yellow knickers to work is not suddenly going to make you break through the glass ceiling. But it may remind you to think more yellow thoughts, to channel that solar plexus energy within you and to give your goals a bloody good shot. 

Anyway, I'm enjoying all the mystical feels and yay! according to my angels ... (one step at a time, you're not ready to hear about my angels just yet)... The Force is strong in this one.

The 7 Chakra colours and their meaning. Taken from The Reiki Guide.Org

Root Chakra Color: Red

We’ll start off with the root chakra, also known as muladhara in Sanskrit. This is located at the base of your spine and is represented by the color red. The root chakra is also said to be the origin of one’s sexual energy and vitality. It governs the kidneys, bladder, hips and more. This chakra is located at your tailbone and tends to the most basic needs of any human; safety, survival and security. If your root chakra is out of balance, you may experience fear, insecurity and anxiety. You may also start experiencing physical problems such as diarrhea, constipation, increased need to urinate and kidney stones.

Sacral Chakra Color: Orange

The next chakra is the sacral chakra, represented by the color orange. This energy portal governs the stomach and related organs such as the male and female primary sexual organs and peripheral ones such as the ovaries, prostate and testes. It’s responsible for a person’s will as well as desire to succeed. Creativity is also thought to stem from the sacral chakra. If the sacral chakra is blocked, one may become emotionally exploitative and sexually manipulative.

Solar Plexus Chakra Color: Yellow

The solar plexus chakra, symbolized by the color yellow governs the liver, spleen and small intestines. It’s associated with confident, a practical disposition and the ability to use one’s intelligence in an effective manner. Any blockage of the solar plexus chakra usually manifests itself as live disease, ulcers, pancreatitis, depression and excessive worry.

Heart Chakra Color: Green

The heart chakra is green and it’s located where your heart is. It is connected to the thymus gland, and governs your immunity, ability to feel love and compassion as well as the ability to be forgiving. When your hear chakra is working as it should, you are more likely to be sympathetic, generous, humble and romantic.

Throat ChakraColor: Blue

The throat chakra is represented by the color blue and is located in your throat. It controls the thyroid gland, and it helps you become tactful, inspiring and loyal if it is well-balanced. Bronchitis, asthma, mouth ulcers and tonsillitis have all been associated with an out-of-balance throat chakra.

Brow Chakra Color: Indigo

The brow chakra is indigo, and it is located in-between your eyes, at brow level. It is associated with the pituitary gland as well as your eyes and sinuses. When balanced, it helps you become fearless, wise, a truth-seeker and intuitive.

Crown Chakra Color: Violet

Lastly, the crown chakra, violet in color, is located at the crown of your head and is associated with the pineal gland. It is thought that humanitarians, inspirational leaders, mentally strong and creative people have a well-balanced crown chakra.

That's enough weirdness from me for one day. Have you had reiki or chakra balancing before? Did you feel The Force? Let me know what you think in the comments section, but please don't ruin everything with some scientific proof that it's all a load of baloney. My magic crystals might stop working and I've got shed loads of work for them this week. 

Happy Monday all,

Claire xx

For my Reiki experience, I visited a wonderful spiritual practioner called Adele Doxey at The Mind Spa in Huddersfield. For more information about Reiki visit